Published: Mon, March 12, 2018
Economy | By

Lok Sabha bypolls: Voting underway in Yogi's Gorakhpur

Lok Sabha bypolls: Voting underway in Yogi's Gorakhpur

The byelections in the three constituencies - one Lok Sabha and two Assembly seats - in Bihar assume significance as this is the first-ever poll which has been held after Nitish Kumar switched sides and formed the government with the help of BJP-led NDA after dumping his previous partners RJD and the Congress in July 2017.

Lucknow/Patna: Moderate to low polling was recorded on Sunday in the Lok Sabha by-elections in Uttar Pradesh's Gorakhpur and Phulpur and Bihar's Araria, being viewed as yet another test for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) ahead of the general elections next year.

Mr Adityanath after casting his vote on Sunday called the BSP-SP partnership an "unholy alliance".

According to the Election Commission, there 19.61 lakh voters in Phulpur parliamentary constituency, while there are 19.49 lakh voters in Gorakhpur.

The BJP has fielded Upendra Dutt Shukla against SP's Pravin Nishad.

Gorakhpur is the parliamentary constituency and stronghold of Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath. The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and the Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) have extended their support to the SP candidate.

Ten candidates are in the fray from Gorakhpur, while 22 candidates are contesting from Phulpur.

"The people know that development is the only panacea", he told reporters.

The voting for the bye-elections to the two Lok Sabha seats began on a tiresome note but picked up momentum in the day amid tight security, they said.

In Gorakhpur parliamentary constituency, there are 970 polling centres and 2141 polling booths, while in Phulpur, there are 793 polling centres and 2059 polling booths.

On the other hand, the bye-elections to Jehanabad and Bhabua assembly seats are being held following the demise of sitting legislators from the RJD and the BJP, respectively.

The U.P. Chief Election Officer's office said in a statement that while voting was peaceful, 114 VVPATS, 41 EVM balloting units and 38 EVM control units had to be replaced after "minor technical complaints".

The death of RJD MLA Mundrika Singh Yadav necessitated the bypoll for Jehanabad seat, and his son Uday Yadav is contesting for the seat.

The saffron party has fielded Pandey's wife Rinky Rani and her principal challenger is Congress candidate Shambhu Singh Patel.

The results for both states will be declared on March 14.

Like this: