Published: Mon, March 12, 2018
Economy | By

There Is Anti-BJP Political Space In West Bengal: Abhishek Manu Singhvi

There Is Anti-BJP Political Space In West Bengal: Abhishek Manu Singhvi

The support extended to him is "based on an issue as well as time", Singhvi said. Speaking to mediapersons, Patel said, "I had discussions with Mamata Banerjee today". But, Banerjee has made a decision to extend support to Congress itself and back Singhvi, This is surprising as Congress have been contesting Bengal polls as allies of the Left, which are the biggest political rivals for TMC. Senior party leader like Abhishek Manu Singhvi was the prominent name in the list. "But that did no affect our opposition to the ruling party at the state level", said Abdul Mannan, Congress legislative party leader.

"The arithmetic, history and geography of this state show the presence of an anti-BJP political space here", he said.

Congress part on Sunday released a list of 1o candidates for the ensuing Biennial Elections for the 58 Rajya Sabha seats scheduled to take place on March 23.

Bengal chief minister and Trinamool Congress supremo, Mamata Banerjee, on Friday, announced support for Congress candidate Abhishek Manu Singhvi for the Rajya Sabha elections from the state.

Lawyer and politician Abhishek Singhvi is MP ( Rajya Sabha) in the Upper House representing Rajasthan.

Mr Singhvi also thanked all the senior Congress leaders in the state, including West Bengal Pradesh Congress Committee (WBPCC) president Adhir Chowdhury, and hoped that they would keep on supporting him.

Both Chowdhury and Mannan had stayed away from Singhvi's programmes in the state before state Assembly elections in 2016 as the Congress leader had been the counsel of several accused persons in Narada case.

Stating that if the BJP had targeted Bengal, her party was looking at the Lal Quila in 2019, Banerjee said, "I will ask them (BJP) to manage Delhi first and then think about Bengal". "I am proud to be nominated from the land of Rabindranath Tagore, Swami Vivekananda, Ramakrishna, Raja Rammohan Roy and Netaji Subhas", said Singhvi.

Like this: