Published: Tue, March 13, 2018

BJP fields Narayan Rane, GVL, Anil Baluni to contest for RS polls

BJP fields Narayan Rane, GVL, Anil Baluni to contest for RS polls

Prasad, whose current Rajya Sabha term is ending in April, expressed gratitude to Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah "for giving me this opportunity to serve the people once again".

The RJD has fielded two candidates - its national spokesman Manoj Jha and Ashfaq Karim, who runs a medical college in Katihar district of the state.

Earlier in the day, Jaitley filed his nomination papers for the Rajya Sabha election from UP.

His victory in the March 23 Rajya Sabha polls is a certainty with the BJP having 43 lawmaker and the additional required support in the 224 member assembly. One of its leaders PK Valera has filed his nomination as an independent candidatewith the support of some CongressMLAs.

A former BSP MLA, Ambedkar filed his nomination papers for the Rajya Sabha polls on March 7. For now, the Congress holds two of these seats, NCP also holds two seats while the ruling BJP and Shiv Sena share the remaining two.

BJP has named Ashok Bajpai, Vijay Pal Singh Tomar, Sakal Deep Rajbhar, Kanta Kardam, Anil Jain, Harnath Singh Yadav and GVL Narasimha Rao as their Rajya Sabha candidates from Uttar Pradesh.

Rajeev Chandrasekhar and Sameer Urnav will represent Karnataka while Ajay Pratap Singh and Kailash Sonil are from Madhya Pradesh.

In Uttar Pradesh, Ashok Bajpai, one of the founding members of the Samajwadi Party who left to join the BJP past year, has been fielded as a candidate.

"A meeting of Congress Legislature Party was held and after consulting the MLAs, we have made a decision to vote for the BSP nominee", CLP leader Ajay Singh Lallu said.

Former Mahila Morcha leader Saroj Pande is the BJP nominee from Chhattisgarh.

The BJP, however, is said to have been contemplating a ninth candidate also, something which might now face a roadblock.

Senior journalist Kumar Ketkar is the Congress candidate from Maharashtra.

G.C. Chandrashekar is the third candidate of the Congress. This means the Congress can count on just 38 votes, 3 short of requirements.

For the two seats in Gujarat, supporters of state Congress president Bharatsinh Solanki and Shaktisinh Gohil were lobbying hard.

In Gujarat, the Congress list has created division among leaders.

Like this: