Published: Tue, April 24, 2018

Karnataka polls: Siddaramaiah in delhi for list of candidates

Karnataka polls: Siddaramaiah in delhi for list of candidates

In the final stages of deciding its candidates for the high stakes Karnataka elections, the Congress is toying with the idea of fielding incumbent chief minister Siddaramaiah from two seats.

After the selection committee meeting concluded on Tuesday, a list of candidates began circulating on social media.

"Any list regrading the election will be released only after a meeting of the Central election committee".

The first list of BJP, comprising 72 candidates, for the upcoming May 12 Karnataka assembly elections has been released. Prime Minister Narendra Modi and senior leaders Rajnath Singh and Sushma Swaraj were also present for the meeting at BJP headquarters in Delhi.

The 72 names include that of Yeddyurappa, S.R.Bommai, Umesh Katti, B.Sriramalu and Govind Karjol among others. Malikayya Guttedar will contest from Afzhalpur and Mallikarjuna Khuba from Basavakalyana.

The BJP is likely to announce most of its candidates for the 220 seats by next week.

The battle for Karnataka has begun officially with the BJP on Sunday releasing its first list of candidates.

The BJP has been doggedly pursuing to recapture Karnataka after it lost power in the state in 2013.

Karnataka will go to polls on May 12 to elect its representatives for the 225-member assembly.

The BJP and Congress is leaving no stone unturned to woo voters in Karnataka.

According to sources, the party is cautious about the prospects of by-polls to the Lok Sabha seats especially after its debacle in the Uttar Pradesh by-elections.

Like this: