Published: Tue, May 15, 2018
Science | By

Fortnite Infinity Gauntlet Mode Ends Tomorrow, But Will It Ever Return?

Fortnite Infinity Gauntlet Mode Ends Tomorrow, But Will It Ever Return?

Epic confirmed via Twitter earlier today that downtime for patch 4.2 will begin at 1:00 PDT / 4:00 EDT / 8:00 GMT on May 15.

While the message states that Fortnite downtime will start at 8am, due to the region time difference, this will actually start at 9am, BST. And who needs a Mad Titan when we could finally have some fresh new burst assault rifles?

General improvements to Twitch Prime flow for users attempting to redeem the Prime Pack.


More will be revealed after the game goes down for scheduled maintenance, which is when Epic Games usually share the official patch notes. Of course, as has been the case with many LTMs, the aforementioned mode will retire, and it's set to leave the game tomorrow on May 15, 2018. A game like that would be great for a Battle Royale mode, especially since Fortnite's own Battle Royale mode is essentially an entirely separate game from the original Fortnite concept. Last week, the brothers told Entertainment Weekly that they would often play the game in between editing the film, leading them to reach out to Epic Games to make a crossover happen.

Originally kicked off on May 8th, the "Infinity Gauntlet Limited Time Mashup" has given Fortnite players the chance to play as Thanos, the villain of Marvel Studios' Avengers: Infinity War. After all, Epic just recently brought back a slightly tweaked variation of the first Limited Time Mode it ever introduced for Fortnite - that is, 50v50 -showing that the Infinity Gauntlet mode could come back either in its initial form or in a completely different permutation.

Like this: