Published: Thu, June 14, 2018
Economy | By

World Cup 2026 awarded to USA, Canada and Mexico

World Cup 2026 awarded to USA, Canada and Mexico

Other cities on the list are Atlanta, Baltimore, Boston, Cincinnati, Dallas, Denver, Edmonton, Guadalajara, Houston, Kansas City, Los Angeles, Mexico City, Monterrey, Montreal, Nashville, New York/NewJersey, Philadelphia, San Francisco, Toronto and Washington, DC. Chicago and Minneapolis also withdrew, citing similar worries.

Tourism Minister Lisa Beare said that raised concerns the province would have to sign on without knowing how much taxpayers would actually be paying, and that the bid committee had rejected requests to try to arrive at a dollar figure. "And when it's all said and done, I think the United Bid Committee and Federation Internationale de Football Association in 2020 will have a really hard time not putting our stadium on the list for matches".

"The Province carefully assesses all sport events for value to taxpayers. Unfortunately, those assurances were not forthcoming".

The chance to co-host the 2026 World Cup is an opportunity to put Canada on the world stage, politicians said Wednesday after soccer's global governing body voted in favour of a joint North American bid for the event. Thank you for entrusting us with the privilege of hosting the FIFA World Cup in 2026.

Mexico has previously hosted two World Cups, in 1970 and 1986. The national team's failure to qualify for the World Cup was embarrassing for the team and its fans.

Toronto, Montreal and Edmonton are all candidates cities for games at the tournament that will be hosted by Canada, the USA and Mexico.

Of the 23 cities chosen as potential host sites, 15 now have MLS teams. The United States will host the remaining 60, including the final.

The joint bid had been the front-runner for the 48-team tournament from the moment a North American coalition was first mooted two years ago, and there have been spells when it has looked like the only credible candidate.

Canada has not qualified since 1986, which is the last time the United States of America did not qualify, before 2018.

"The people of North America have always welcomed me".

When Canada finally gets to that day eight years from now, we'll all be able to point to this year, 2018, as the one that changed everything for Canadian soccer.

Teenage Vancouver Whitecaps star Alphonso Davies said the chance to play for Canada on home turf would be a dream come true. There was no professional league, numerous national team players came from New Jersey and California, watching live professional games from Europe was almost impossible, and the World Cup ratings from 1990 in Italy were miniscule.

The province, which owns BC Place, said FIFA's financial conditions and uncertain security costs were deal-breakers. Whitecaps president Bob Lenarduzzi joins Jon McComb.

Like this: