Published: Fri, June 22, 2018
Sport | By

Mickelson sorry for Open moment of madness

Mickelson sorry for Open moment of madness

Following his third round Saturday, Mickelson offered a tepid apology in a statement that was far more defiant in tone. "I'm embarrassed and disappointed by my actions". "I would gladly take the two shots over continuing that display". It's my understanding of the rules. "I've had multiple times where I wanted to do that, and I finally did it". As his bogey putt on the par-4 was going by the cup, he decided he didn't want to play "Army golf" (left, right, left, right) and whacked it back toward the hole.

The five-time major victor, who was already four over par for the day on his 48th birthday, badly overhit a putt on the 13th green which was set to roll off the putting surface.

USGA officials said disqualification was not in order for his violation.

'That's where we clarified that, 'Phil, you actually made a stroke at a moving ball, and so we have to apply that rule (14-5). "So it's just, it's us applying the rules".

The United States Golf Association (USGA) gave Mickelson a two-stroke penalty instead of disqualifying him. A "serious breach" could occur if it allows a player to "gain a significant advantage", and the advantage gained by Mickelson was arguably just that since he prevented his ball from sliding off the green, whence he would have to chip it back up, putt again and possibly lose even more strokes.

John Bodenhamer, the USGA's senior managing director of championships and governance, said: "Phil didn't purposely deflect or stop the ball, which is talked about in the reference under Rule 14-5".


Some observers were upset that Mickelson and playing partner Andrew Johnston were smiling as they walked off the green.

'You might have a bad day at work or do something or say something that you regret.

According to Mickelson's wife Amy, the 48-year-old had offered to withdraw during his telephone call with Davis after hearing the debate over whether he should have been disqualified. I was reminded that it is just "a game", although I would be happy to take home the $27,952 that Mickelson won for finishing in 48th place.

If Mickelson had a bad moment on the 13th green during his third round, his final round brought a much happier occasion.

But on Sunday, he not only finished under par - he managed to shoot par on No. 13 and raised his arms in celebration afterward before throwing his ball into the crowd.

"I know this should've come sooner, but it's taken me a few days to calm down", wrote Mickelson.

Like this: