Published: Sun, June 24, 2018
Sport | By

PCB names T20, ODI squads for triangular, Zimbabwe series

PCB names T20, ODI squads for triangular, Zimbabwe series

T20 SQUAD: Fakhar Zaman, M Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Asif Ali, Hussain Talat, Sarfraz Ahmad (capt, wk), Harris Sohail, Shadab Khan, M Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Hassan Ali, M Amir, Usman Khan Shinwari, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Sahibzada Farhan.

Batsman Babar Azam has also been left out as he continues to recover from the fractured forearm he sustained in the first Test against England at Lord's.

He added: "Asif Ali has been included in the ODI squad to strengthen the lower middle-order while Junaid Khan and Yasir Shah will make a comeback in the ODI squad after successfully recovering from injuries".

Mohammad Hafeez will be bowling for Pakistan once again after he was included in the 15-member squad "as an all-rounder" for the triangular T20I series, which runs from July 1 till July 8, against the hosts Zimbabwe and Australia.

His inclusion came after his bowling action got cleared last month. The right-handed top-order batsman, who bowls off-spin, has represented Pakistan in 200 ODIs and 81 T20 Internationals and last played an ODI against New Zealand at Wellington in January this year.

Pakistan have also included 22-year-old Sahibzada Farhan, known for his aggressive stroke-play, for the triangular series. The left-arm pacer, who is three away from his 100th ODI wicket, last played in October during the five-match ODI series against Sri Lanka. Rookie pacer Usman, also a left-armer, last appeared in an ODI against Sri Lanka at Sharjah a year ago.

For the T20 tri-series in Zimbabwe, the selectors dropped opener Ahmed Shehzad whose career is in the doldrums after the opener was reported to have been tested positive in a dope test conducted recently. In place of Shahzad, Farhan is in the team. Meanwhile, the ODI series is slated to start from 13 July.

All-rounder Mohammad Hafeez returned to the Pakistan squad while the uncapped Sahibzada Farhan was called up for Twenty20 global tri-series in Zimbabwe, which also features Australia.Yasir Shah, the leg-spinner, who missed the tour of England and Ireland with an injury, finds a place on the one-day worldwide squad.Ahmed Shehzad and Rahat Ali were dropped from the squad of 15 that swept Scotland in two T20Is recently.

Pakistan team (ODI and T-20I) camp will be from June 25 to 27, 2018 at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore. The team will depart for Zimbabwe on June 28, 2018.

Like this: