Published: Fri, July 27, 2018
Sport | By

Bangladesh-Sri Lanka encounter to kick-start 2018 Asia Cup

Bangladesh-Sri Lanka encounter to kick-start 2018 Asia Cup

The International Cricket Council on Tuesday announced that India and Pakistan will face each other in Dubai after drawing the same group for the Asia Cup 2018. The qualifier will feature six teams too: Singapore, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Nepal, Oman and UAE.

Group A consists of India, Pakistan and the qualifier while Group B comprises Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan. The final will be played in Dubai on September 28. This will be the 14th edition of the Asia Cup and the UAE will be staging the tournament for the third time. India have won the tournament most number of times (six) while Lanka have won five times and Pakistan twice. Pakistan have been dominant in the UAE, winning 19 of the contests. The previous tournament in Bangladesh in 2016 was played in the T20 format ahead of the World T20.

The Indian team may possibly test their bench strength to the full extent as the tournament will be commencing shortly after the team finishes the long England series.

The best two teams in the Super 4 stage will play the final.

"Dubai Sports City will ensure top-class arrangements for all the matches as per the schedule", added Al Zarouni, who is also a board member of the Emirates Cricket Board. Bangladesh is now touring the Caribbean and will finish the series against West Indies on August 6. India will take on Pakistan on September 19th in Dubai.

The schedule for 2018 Asia Cup has been released with India set to play two ODIs on consecutive days.

Like this: