Published: Fri, September 14, 2018
Sport | By

Pro Football HOF announces initial Class of 2019

Pro Football HOF announces initial Class of 2019

The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced a list on Thursday of 102 players and coaches for their modern-era Hall of Fame class of 2019, and several former Redskins are on the list. He ranks second in National Football League history with 1,325 receptions and is the Chiefs' career record holder for receptions (916) and receiving yards (10.940). Come January, that number will be trimmed further to 15 finalists. He made five All-Pro squads, was the 2004 Defensive Player of the Year, and joined Gonzalez on the all-decade team.

Over 17 seasons with Kansas City (1997-08) and the Atlanta Falcons (2009-13), Gonzalez earned 14 Pro Bowl selections (1999-08, 2010-13) and 10 first- or second-team All-Pro honors from the Associated Press.

The Oakland Raiders have been fortunate enough to see 26 members of the Silver and Black be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

The roster of nominees has 47 offensive players, 39 defensive players, five special-teams players and 11 coaches.

Also, former Dolphins and Miami Hurricanes head coach Jimmy Johnson was named as a nominee. Senior Finalist Johnny Robinson, who spent his entire career with the Texans/Chiefs franchise from 1960-71, and Contributor Finalists Pat Bowlen and Gil Brandt will also be included in the voting. That group will be enshrined in Canton, Ohio on Saturday, August 3, 2019.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame quest for former Chiefs tight end Tony Gonzalez is now official.

Like this: