Published: Mon, October 08, 2018
Economy | By

Facebook message about your account being cloned is a hoax

Facebook message about your account being cloned is a hoax

Facebook officials told WYSR-TV that they have not seen an unusual uptick in cloned accounts and that people are likely sharing the message out of fear.

Of course, there have been multiple real Facebook scandals recently; from reports of logins being sold on the dark web to the massive data breach at the end of September, it's been a rocky month for the social media company.

Your Facebook account has not been hacked or cloned and has not been sending out friend requests. The attackers were then able to steal access tokens that could be used to take over someone's account.

Basically, people are being duped into thinking their accounts have been "cloned". Your friends will think that it's you and accept your request.


This particular warning suggests the recipient's Facebook account has been targeted for such "cloning", as indicated by the sender's having received "a second friend request" from that account. I have NO plans to open a new account. "Please DO NOT accept a 2nd friend request from "me". please forward to all your contacts".

"Hi ... I actually got another friend request from you yesterday ... which I ignored so you may want to check your account", the message says. Hold your finger on the message until the forward button appears ... then hit forward and all the people you want to forward too ... "Good Luck!" read the message. That does actually happen. A spokesperson told the Sun: "We've heard that some people are seeing posts or messages about accounts being cloned on Facebook".

The best thing for Facebook users to do is to simply ignore and delete the message.

Like this: