Published: Thu, November 08, 2018
Tech | By

Facebook Messenger will let iPhone users unsend messages


Facebook Messenger will soon roll out an unsend feature, which will give users a grand total of ten minutes to unsend a message, wiping it from your chat history.

Facebook didn't announce the feature yet, but The Verge spotted it in the "coming soon" section of the release notes from Messenger for iPhone version 191.0.

Other messaging services, including Facebook's own WhatsApp, have the same option, though it gives users an hour to delete any embarrassing/drunken/threatening communications. At least, that's how its worked for users whose name isn't Mark Zuckerberg.

Users may now delete messages on the Messenger app but it only reflects on the sender's end and remains on the recipient's thread.


The feature was first discovered and tweeted about by an engineer named Jane Manchun Wong in October while it was being tested.

So far, Facebook has not mentioned when the new "unsend" feature would be available. If your recipient is looking at their phone when you message them, or if they open the app before you can undo your action, there's not much you can do to take back your words.

As is the case with WhatsApp, time limits will be involved, meaning you won't be able to remove any of the things you said in past chats.

Like this: