Published: Fri, December 07, 2018
Sport | By

Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray wins Davey O'Brien Award

Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray wins Davey O'Brien Award

The Oklahoma star was presented the Davey O'Brien Award, given to college football's top quarterback, at the College Football Awards Show on Thursday night in Atlanta.

Tagovailoa took home the Walter Camp Award as well as the Maxwell Award, both of which honor the nation's top player. McCarron was the last Maxwell Award victor to not win the Heisman.

Heisman Trophy candidate Kyler Murray still plans to play Major League Baseball with the Oakland A's next season, according to the San Francisco Chronicle. They are both finalists for the Heisman, along with Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins.

Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa carries the ball against The Citadel Nov. 17 in Tuscaloosa, Ala. His 4,527 yards of total offense are more than 68 of the country's other 129 teams, including six squads that are ranked in the AP Top 25 Poll.

Last season, the outfielder hit.296 with 47 RBI and 10 home runs in 51 games with the Sooners.

Murray, a 5-foot-10, 195-pound junior from Allen, Texas, won the award in his final year as a college athlete.

Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray is adding to his trophy case. Mayfield won the award last season. Through 13 games, the sophomore has completed 67.7 percent of his passes for 3,353 yards and a school-record 37 touchdowns. He has also rushed for 892 yards and another 11 scores. Murray and Tagovailoa will face each other in the College Football Playoff, when No. 1 Alabama plays No. 4 Oklahoma at the Orange Bowl semifinal on December 29.

"It's been a long journey with a lot of waiting, but I think it's all been worth it", Murray said.

Like this: