Published: Sun, February 10, 2019
Tech | By

New Fortnite account merge tool makes cross-play easier

New Fortnite account merge tool makes cross-play easier

Account merging is a feature Epic announced at the end of a year ago, shortly after Sony agreed to cross-platform play.

The process is actually very simple. Players can now merge two Epic accounts to use all of their cosmetics and accumulate their V-Bucks, regardless of platform.Epic have made a new site page that allows players to select the two accounts they have used so far in Fortnite. Two weeks later your Fortnite Cosmetic Items and V-Bucks will be transferred to your Primary Account.

Of course, there are some caveats involved. Accounts must have been played before September 28, 2018 in order to be eligible.

The secondary account will be "merged and disabled" and the login on your secondary account will be linked to your primary account instead. You can finally merge it with your Xbox, PC, Nintendo Switch or mobile account, GameSpot reports.


Additionally, banned or disabled accounts can't be merged, which just seems like common sense. Nearly everything on the secondary account gets moved to the primary account, and then the secondary will be disabled. To be absolutely clear, merging two Fortnite accounts means the primary account will receive transferred inventory items while the secondary account gets deleted. If you have 3rd party login (such as Facebook) on both accounts, the secondary login will be unlinked. Everybody who had to split their play time between an Epic Games account associated with PS4 and an Epic Games account associated with Switch or Xbox One can finally get all of their items in one place, though the process does have a few technicalities you should know before starting.

Epic's account-merging feature combines your purchases (and some game progress) to the account you use regularly, and deletes any other account you made because you had to.

The campaign will allow you to merge "Llamas, ' 'Defenders, ' 'Heroes, ' 'Schematics, ' 'Survivors, ' experience, 'Evolution, ' and 'Perk Materials" only.

Keep in mind to think carefully about whether you want to merge your accounts or not.

Like this: