Published: Sun, April 14, 2019

Vasyl Lomachenko calls out Mikey Garcia after beating Anthony Crolla

Vasyl Lomachenko calls out Mikey Garcia after beating Anthony Crolla

It was thunderous strike to the Manchester fighter's temple, immediately sending him slumping face first to the canvas as the referee waved off the bout inside the Staples Center.

"I think they [should have] throw the towel in, but it is, what it is".

The knockout came just one round after Lomachenko scored the first knockdown of the fight when he landed a barrage of rights and lefts while the challenger was pinned and defenceless on the ropes.

"For me it was very comfortable, because I worked with two hands", Lomachenko said.


Even when Lomachenko can't get an ideal opponent, he still puts on a show - and the raucous crowd of 10,101 at Staples Center enjoyed it.

After his victory, Lomachenko called out WBC and IBF lightweight champion Mikey Garcia for a big money unification bout. Commey's injured hand forced Lomachenko's promoters to make this fight with Crolla, rather than surrender his WBA belt. Instead, he dismantled Crolla (34-7-3, 13 KOs), the 32-year-old former champion from Great Britain, with a brilliant display of clean and creative punches from awkward angles. After observing the scene, Vasyl unleashed vicious combinations in the third round that dropped Crolla against the ropes. But as I alluded to earlier, the mandatory challenge was essentially the last of Vasyl's sanctioned requirements before he unifies the lightweight crown in a winner-takes-all contest with Mikey Garcia.

The Ukrainian has developed a significant fan base in Los Angeles, where he lives and trains. "That's my goal. I want historic fights", Lomachenko said. The fight was Ramirez's debut at light heavyweight. Both Lomachenko and the California commission members thought the fight had been stopped and began to celebrate and enter the ring until Reiss restored order.

Like this: