Published: Mon, April 15, 2019
Sport | By

Friday's auto racing roundup: Harvick wins pole at Richmond

Friday's auto racing roundup: Harvick wins pole at Richmond

Martin Truex Jr. held off Clint Bowyer in a long duel and then Joey Logano for four laps to win the NASCAR Cuper Series race at Richmond Raceway.

While Busch will attempt to earn his fourth win of the year, he'll also look to continue the dominance of Joe Gibbs Racing and Team Penske to open the season. It's his 20th career victory and 17th in the last four seasons.

"The pit call that we made at the end of the (second) stage, it worked out obviously in our favor, but I pushed really hard to try to get back up to the front and just didn't have quite enough there are the end to do anything", Allgaier said. Also, he has a 27-point lead over Denny Hamlin and two wins in the driver standings. Brad Keselowski dropped to eighth during the cycle and Kyle Busch, seeking his third victory in a row on the 0.75-mile, D-shaped oval, his fourth of the season and second in a row, fell back to 10th.

"We're just really excited", Truex said. "Just searching for that feel is really what you do every time you come here".

Jumping past Clint Bowyer for second spot, the No. 22 had less than five laps to reel in leader Truex.

The defending race victor snagged the top starting spot for today's race as the qualifying session ended.

"Everything you want as a racecar driver, you've got to have (the) most of all of it and, if you don't, then you better hope you have more forward bite than the rest of them".

In this race a year ago, Busch started from the rear for unapproved adjustments and led 32 laps to claim the win. He was never able to make back up front to challenge for the lead. "I think that's the reason why you need to enjoy it in pro sports because you know, odds are, this ain't going to keep happening". A trip to victory lane on Saturday would be his 3rd straight after sweeping the 2018 Richmond races, and it would bump him up to tie for the second-most win with Bobby Allison.

Eight cars failed prerace inspection, including three that failed twice. They include the cars of local favorite Denny Hamlin, a three-time victor on the 0.75-mile oval, Chase Elliott and Matt Tifft.

Five other teams failed inspection and had their qualifying speeds and pit selection disallowed. They were those of seven-time series champion Jimmie Johnson, Aric Almirola, Erik Jones, Daniel Suarez and Joey Gase.

Kyle Larson's slow start to the season continued, giving him an early night.

No racing next week for the Easter break. "Tonight we didn't have the best auto, but we've lost some here with the best vehicle". The top four finishers in this race will be eligible for the bonus when the series races next at Talladega Superspeedway in two weeks.

Like this: