Published: Wed, June 12, 2019

Theresa May resigns as British Conservative Party leader

Theresa May resigns as British Conservative Party leader

"So, the first issue a new prime minister has to make clear is what are they going to do with the Withdrawal Agreement that is there", said Rutter.

"Nominations close at 5pm on Monday, June 10". The victor of the party leadership race will automatically become the next prime minister.

Theresa May has handed in her formal resignation to the Conservative Party.

The Brexit Party was unable to repeat its European election success in a first-past-the-post Westminster contest, although it came far closer than a fledgling party could normally be expected to manage.

It quickly put May on a collision course with politicians in the Parliament on what kind of Brexit to pursue.

Earlier this week, the ruling party overhauled its leadership election rules in a bid to speed up the selection process and prevent too many candidates from standing.

January 15, 2019: The Brexit deal comes back to Parliament, where it is overwhelmingly defeated in a 432-202 vote.

The Conservative premier's turbulent time in office was swamped and ultimately sunk by her legacy-defining battle to secure a Brexit divorce deal.

New party rules created to speed up the race means that number could be reduced to six by Monday.

The contest to replace her has already been heating up for weeks, with candidates arguing over the rights and wrongs of a so-called no-deal Brexit, or leaving the European Union without a deal.

Forbes, a union activist, won 10,484 votes, beating the Brexit party's Mike Greene, who took 9,801 votes.

One political commentator said it means the crucial job of picking May's successor will be made by "a group of elderly people around the country", a reference to much of the Conservative Party's membership. Eleven lawmakers are now in the running and nominations are due Monday. The final list will be announced around 5 p.m.(1600 GMT) on the day.

Boris Johnson, Sajid Javid, Jeremy Hunt and others have all expressed that they seek specific changes to Withdrawal Agreement (the Irish backstop in particular), and potential "no-deal" if renegotiations fail.

Former foreign minister Boris Johnson is the favourite to win.

"Johnson may not deliver, and in my opinion he is likely to come up against exactly the same problems as May", said political expert Anthony Glees, who is also a professor from the University of Buckingham. Some observers suspect that poll will have to be held later this year because of the long-running parliamentary deadlock over Brexit. His new party stormed to the top place in the recent European Parliament elections.

Nigel Farage claims he's "fundamentally changed" British politics despite his party's narrow defeat to Labour in the Peterborough by-election.

The main beneficiaries have been Farage's Brexit party, which advocates a hardline Brexit, and the Liberal Democrats, who have taken up a pro-Remain platform.

She will continue in Downing Street until the new leader, who will become the next prime minister, is announced in July.

Whoever is selected will face pressure to call a general election in order to prove a democratic mandate to govern.

The Conservatives weren't the runners-up in a constituency they have only lost control of three times since 1880. Amber Rudd, a current pensions minister and a Europhile, said, "I think it's outrageous to consider proroguing parliament", citing King Charles I, who shuttered parliament in the 17th century, triggering a civil war.

"We focus on the substance not the personalities", he said.

British PM contender Jeremy Hunt.

Like this: