Published: Thu, June 13, 2019
Tech | By

Google killing the integration between Google Drive and Google Photos

Google killing the integration between Google Drive and Google Photos

This means that a particular photo deleted in Photos will not be deleted from your Drive account in case they happen to be the same one.

For those who use both Google Drive and Google Photos, there is sometimes some confusion about syncing between the two which can sometimes lead to photos doubling up and taking up precious space in your shared Google storage. Moreover, those who have a " Google Photos" folder in Drive will be pleased to know that while it will remain on Drive, it will no longer update automatically.

The company is also introducing a new feature to the Google Photos desktop app called Upload from Drive, which allows you to manually choose files from Google Drive to add to Photos. "We've heard feedback that the connection between these services is confusing, so next month, we're making some changes to simplify the experience across Drive and Photos".

The good news is anything deleted from one service won't be removed from the other either. Your new photos and videos in Google Photos, similarly, will not be added to the Photos folder in Google Drive. This change is created to help prevent accidental deletion of items across products.


Google also says that Backup and Sync for Windows and Mac will continue to work, but that if you upload in original quality using that service it'll only count towards storage once for both services, because that's not at all confusing. Once copied, the files are not connected; in other words, if you delete a photo in Drive it will not delete its copy in Photos or vice versa. In contrast, all the new photos and videos that you upload either on Google Drive or store in Photos won't be available across both products.

Although these changes will take effect from July, all existing media in both the apps will remain unaffected. At the same time, anything added to the Photos folder in Google Drive won't copy across to Photos.

Any photos or videos that were uploaded prior to this change will remain in Photos.

Like this: