Published: Thu, October 10, 2019

Nobel Prize announces 2019 literature winners from Austria, Poland

Nobel Prize announces 2019 literature winners from Austria, Poland

I'm wrapping up this blog now, so thanks for following along. A graduate of the University of Kent and the University of East Anglia, he added the Nobel Prize to his list of accomplishments in 2017.

And some of you who are reading this might be interested in joining The Local Sweden's very own Book Club, where we read a different book with a Swedish link every month.

Handke's opinions on the Yugoslav wars are at best controversial. Handke is also infamous for his appearance at former Serbian and Yugoslavian president Slobodan Milošević's funeral.

Tokarczuk, who also won the Man Booker International Prize past year for her novel Flights, won for her "narrative imagination that with encyclopaedic passion represents the crossing of boundaries as a form of life". Her magnum opus, the committee said, was the historical novel Księgi Jakubowe, or "The Books of Jacob", published in 2014.

Austrian author Peter Handke is awarded "for an influential work that with linguistic ingenuity has explored the periphery and the specificity of human existence".

A panel of members from the committee that chose the Laureates is now ready to answer questions.

Tokarczuk and Handke each take home a cheque worth nine million kronor ($912,000, 828,000 euros).

Austria's Peter Handke won the 2019 Nobel Prize for Literature, and the postponed 2018 award went to Polish author Olga Tokarczuk, the Swedish Academy said on Thursday.

Permanent Secretary Mats Malm.

Watch the very moment the Nobel Prizes in Literature for 2018 and 2019 are announced. It was not awarded on eight occasions, most coinciding with the First or Second World Wars. The 57-year-old is a trained psychologist.

The announcement that the 2018 Nobel Prize in literature has been awarded to Polish author Olga Tokarczuk provides a morale boost to liberal-minded Poles only three days before a nationalist populist party taking the country down an illiberal path seems headed for re-election. Of the 11 Nobels awarded so far this week, all the other laureates have been men, reported AP.

Two Nobel Prizes in literature - one for 2019 and one for past year - will be announced Thursday after the 2018 literature award was postponed following sex abuse allegations that had rocked the Swedish Academy. Jean-Claude Arnault, the husband of a former academy member, was convicted previous year of two rapes in 2011.

The Academy was torn apart by a deep rift between members over how to manage their ties to him.

Katarina Frostenson's resignation was followed by that of six other members, including then permanent secretary Sara Danius. This created problems since members are in theory appointed for life and unable to leave their positions.

You can find a more detailed explanation here.

Arnault was accused of leaking the names of Nobel Prize winners as well as assaulting or harassing 18 women - including Crown Princess Victoria, heir to the Swedish throne - causing several members to resign. The academy was founded way back in 1786 by King Gustaf III, tasked with promoting the "purity, strength and sublimity of the Swedish language".

The members hold a vote in October to choose the victor, and the laureate must obtain more than half of the votes cast.

The last Pole to win the Nobel literature prize was poet Wislawa Szymborska in 1996.

That decision was made in the wake of a sex scandal that had embroiled the academy and threatened the future of the world's most prestigious literary award.

Good morning and welcome to our Nobel Prize live blog.

The 2018 Nobel Prize in Literature was postponed for a year due to the sexual harassment scandal that shook the Swedish Academy.

Like this: