Published: Wed, December 04, 2019
Sport | By

James Harden has spectacular dunk ruled out in controversial circumstances

James Harden has spectacular dunk ruled out in controversial circumstances

The Houston Rockets reportedly think National Basketball Association executives could change the result of Tuesday's double-overtime loss in San Antonio, either by awarding them a victory or ordering the game to be replayed from the moment of James Harden's uncounted dunk with 7:50 left in regulation.

The game was tied at 115 at the end of regulation and went to double overtime before San Antonio won 135-133.

All of that had been exhausted in the fourth quarter as he jumped and screamed at the nearest referee within earshot, as the young and hungry Spurs clawed their way back in the game and completely wrestled momentum from the Rockets. Harden took a few dribbles before elevating above the paint for a one-handed finish. Harden slammed the ball so hard that it looped its way back to the cylinder, hence, making it look like it rattled out of the rim.

I'm not buying that, even though the timing issue is likely what the league falls back on to retain the game's outcome.

But when the broadcast showed the replay, the ball did, in fact, go through the basket. "I heard that they said the ball hit James and went back through, so it was a goaltend on James", he said.

While I also get annoyed with all the fouls he picks up, I think his reply is hilarious and great. Then I didn't get a response.

"Then another guy said it wasn't a goaltend; it went out of bounds on us". I said I challenge that.


"I don't know how to answer your question. I didn't get an explanation". DeMar DeRozan added 23 points, nine assists, and five rebounds.

Butler had 22 points, 13 rebounds and 12 assists in the win while Duncan Robinson added 22 points and Bam Adebayo 18 points.

San Antonio second year player Lonnie Walker had a breakout night, dropping in a team-high 28 points. Replays backed him up and James Capers, the officiating crew chief, admitted that the basket should have counted. 'When that happens, that is basket interference.

Capers said after the game that the ball "did clear the net and should have been a successful field goal".

Three days after a 60-point display against Atlanta, Harden followed that masterclass with a half-century at the AT&T Center in San Antonio.

"It is a reviewable matter", Capers continued, "but you have a window of 30 seconds to challenge the play during that timeout that he had and while they were protesting the call, trying to get clarification of it, that window passed, so therefore it elapsed and they were not able to do it".

Like this: