Published: Tue, January 14, 2020
Sport | By

Jasprit Bumrah Receives Polly Umrigar, Dilip Sardesai Awards

Jasprit Bumrah Receives Polly Umrigar, Dilip Sardesai Awards

The 26-year-old pacer took to Twitter and wrote: "Grateful and honoured to be taking these two awards home tonight".

She debuted in Test Series on November 16, 2014, against South Africa and her ODI debut happened on April 12, 2013, against Bangladesh.

Also, Cheteshwar Pujara will be awarded with the Dilip Sardesai award for being the highest run-getter in Tests during the 2018-19 period. With 34 wickets in six Test matches he played in 2018/19 season, Bumrah was Team India's top bowler and played a pivotal role in India scripting history to become firs-ever Asian team to defeat Australia Down Under. He scalped 21 wickets during the 2018-19 Border-Gavaskar trophy, a series in which India made history by beating Australia on their soil for the first time in 71 years. On the other hand, leg spinner Poonam Yadav, who recently received the Arjuna Award, is awarded the best worldwide cricket (women) award. The award will be another feather in the leg-spinner's cap who received the Arjuna Award in August 2019.

Board secretary Jay Shah said, "The BCCI Awards are an important feature in India's cricketing calendar, a melange of aspiration and inspiration".

A member of the 1983 World Cup-winning crew, Srikkanth took on the fearsome West Indies quick bowlers and scored an attacking 38, the highest particular person rating within the low-scoring remaining on the Lord's.

He also captained India and post-retirement served as the chief selector and it was during his tenure that the 2011 World Cup squad was picked.

Anjum is one of the best bat women and the first Indian to play 100 ODIs. In a profession spanning 17 years, Anjum represented India in 4 50-over World Cups and two T20 World Cup (performed in a single).

Test opener Mayank Agarwal, who made his debut during the historic series win in Australia in 2018-19, received the best worldwide debut in the men's category while the talented 15-year-old Shafali Verma grabbed the same in the women's category.

All-rounder Shivam Dube was given the Lala Amarnath award for being the best all-rounder in Ranji Trophy for the 2018-19 season. A total of 25 awards are given.

"We wanted to make Naman bigger and better, and we launched four new categories this year - the highest run getters and wicket takers in WODIs and the best global debut men and women".

Virender Sharma won the best umpire award while Dilip Doshi was given BCCI's special award.

Like this: