Published: Sat, November 21, 2020
Sport | By

National Basketball Association approves play-in tournament for 2020-21 postseason

National Basketball Association approves play-in tournament for 2020-21 postseason

The Los Angeles Lakers will play three games against each Western Conference opponent during the 2020-21 National Basketball Association season as the league officially announced the campaign's structure and format.

Each NBA team will play 42 intraconference and 30 interconference games in total.

The Lakers will face Northwest Division teams at home twice and play two away games against their Southwest Division opponents.

For the conference games, all five teams within a division will get two home games against all five teams from another division within their conference and one home game against all five teams in the conference's other division.

Within each team's division, the league has already assigned which opponents will be played twice at home, and which will be played twice on the road. The NBA Board of Governors noted in announcing the changes that the season would be established in two segments - the first December 22-March 4, followed by the All-Star break (March 5-10), with the second half of the season March 11-May 16. The Play-In Tournament, which will occur after the regular season and before the first round of the playoffs, will incorporate the groups with the seventh-highest through the 10th highest winning percentages in each conference.

The league has set aside an "All-Star break" on March 5-10, though it's been reported no All-Star festivities will take place due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic.

At the conclusion of the regular season, the team with the seventh-highest winning percentage in each conference will host the team with the eighth-highest winning percentage in its conference in a Play-In Game (the "Seven-Eight Game"). It will then conduct a "play-in" tournament between the teams with the seventh, eighth, ninth, and 10 best records to determine the last two of eight playoff berths in each conference. All dates as per Eastern Time (ET).

The NBA has officially announced its new format for the 2020-21 season in addition to its tentative calendar for the upcoming campaign. The timetable for the First Half of the period, which will run from December 22 to March 4, will be delivered around the beginning of instructional course, set for December 1.

The alliance said its leading group of lead representatives consistently affirmed the play-in competition proposition on a one-year premise in a vote Thursday. -The teams with the ninth- and 10th-highest winning percentages in each conference will each have to win two consecutive games to earn a playoff spot.

The Second Half of the period will run from March 11 to May 16. No. 10 clash, and the victor of that game will be the 8-seed in its conference.

Like this: