Published: Sun, November 22, 2020
Sport | By

Mason Greenwood fails to win 2020 Golden Boy Awards

Mason Greenwood fails to win 2020 Golden Boy Awards

Borussia Dortmund striker Erling Haaland has won 2020 Golden Boy award for his spectacular performance for the German club.

The Golden Boy award was established by Italian newspaper Tuttosport and is given to the best young player under the age of 21 across the European leagues with the victor now decided by an intense voting process and panel of global experts.

Haaland beating the likes of Dortmund team-mate Jadon Sancho, Bayern Munich's Alphonso Davies, Manchester United forward Mason Greenwood, and Barcelona sensation Ansu Fati to the award.

He's continued the fine form he previously showed at Red Bull Salzburg, where he managed 29 goals in 27 games before his big move to Germany.

Atletico Madrid forward Joao Felix won the award previous year.

He made history, when he needed just 23 minutes to score a hat-trick off the bench on his Dortmund debut and became the first Bundesliga player to score five goals in his first two league games.

The results of the 2020 Golden Boy Award were announced today and are something of a kick in the teeth for Manchester United fans.

Haaland burst onto the scene with RB Salzburg in the Champions League last season, scoring 8 goals in the 6 group stage matches.

"When you play well, it's only logical that big clubs knock on the door".

'You never know what will happen. We don't want to look any further yet. We haven't talked about that step yet.

"I sometimes think he wants to and can assert himself in any league. Overseas is not a priority for us".

But Haaland is happy with life at Dortmund and isn't contemplating leaving any time soon, according to his father, Alf-Inge Haaland.

"He just wants to be a better player and doesn't look too far ahead".

Dortmund suffered a 3-2 defeat to Bayern in the Bundesliga before the global break and face a trip to Hertha Berlin when they return to action on Saturday.

Like this: