Published: Tue, February 02, 2021
Sport | By

Patrick Reed feeling ‘great’ after embedded ball controversy at Torrey Pines

Patrick Reed feeling ‘great’ after embedded ball controversy at Torrey Pines

At the time, Reed believed that his ball had bounced as he had been told so by a volunteer. It also endured a 49-minute weather delay in the second round January 29 caused by rain, wind and even hail, and a third-round "embedded" ball incident involving eventual victor Patrick Reed that triggered criticism from many observers on social media.

The first three rounds of the Farmers Insurance Open have been played under lift, clean and place because of wet conditions, including more than an inch of rain that fell Friday. But that applies only to balls that are in the fairway.

"It was incredible", said Reed, who became the first player since George Burns in 1987 to win the Farmers after leading after the first round. Reed's irons are a fairly classic muscle-back blade model, while he also continues to carry one Artisan wedge another custom company that produces equipment out of a former Nike Golf factory in Texas.

"The ball just disappeared".

"The golf course is hard", Reed said.

After a storm blew up on Twitter about the incident, Reed tweeted that McIlroy had been involved in a similar situation on the 18th, "and didn't even call a rules official over". The rules official said, 'Yes, there's a lip here, it definitely broke the plane'.


Reed began the day sharing the lead with Carlos Ortiz on 10-under par, but the Mexican stumbled to a 78. "And the info that Patrick had at that time was the ball hadn't bounced, and the info that I had at that time was the same, and I went down and, on my life, that ball of mine was plugged, it was in its own pitch mark, so I took relief".

"It's an unfortunate situation, obviously, but at the end of the day, when you finish the round and the head rules official comes up to you and has the video and shows everything that went down to the whole group and says that you've done this perfectly, you did this the exact right way, the protocols you did were spot on - at that point, I feel great about it". When I put my finger down there and felt like it has broken ground, the first thing you do is call the rules official. Faldo questioned that, and CBS lead broadcaster Jim Nantz called it a "bad look". We took a while.it took me a minute-and-a-half to find it, and then one of the guys found it (and) he said, 'Well, no one saw it'. We felt like we did that and rules officials felt like they did that at the same time. Lanto Griffin added that it "kind of pisses us off". I knew you were going to have to go out and play on offense.

"I basically did the same thing as Patrick did", McIlroy explained. "So now it's go out tomorrow and put the foot down and try to make as many birdies as possible".

The American Ryder Cup star, who was penalised two strokes for appearing to deliberately improve his lie in a bunker at the Tiger Woods' Hero World Challenge in December 2019, was awarded a free drop and saved par. He was later assessed a 2-stroke penalty, and afterward he accepted the penalty but maintained a different camera angle would have exonerated him.

"John Mutch, Ken Tackett and Gary Young have reviewed the Rory McIlroy videos from No. 18 yesterday and determined that it was virtually the same situation that Patrick Reed faced on No. 10 during the third round", the PGA TOUR said via statement. He reached 13 under with a birdie on No. 9. He dropped the ball and hit his third shot.

"Rory McIlroy did the same thing today on Hole 18!"

Like this: