New York Islanders center John Tavares joins Pittsburgh Penguins captain Sidney Crosby and Washington Capitals captain Alex Ovechkin as finalists for the Hart Trophy, awarded annually to the “player adjudged to be the most valuable to his team.”

Crosby, who previously won the Hart in 2007, finished tied for third in the League with 56 points despite sitting out the final month of the regular season with a broken jaw. He still managed to hold the lead in the League scoring race until the final week of the season, and his 1.56 points per game led the League. He also had 15 goals and a career-best plus-26 rating. His strong play helped the Penguins win the Atlantic Division title for the first time since the 2007-08 season and earn the top spot in the Eastern Conference.

The Hart Memorial Trophy, originally known as the Hart Trophy, the oldest and most prestigious individual award in hockey, is awarded annually to the player judged most valuable to his team in the National Hockey League.

Subscribe to NHL Trade Report updates on Facebook, on Twitter, by Email, or RSS.