Elliotte Friedman said on Hockey Night in Canada Saturday that a long-awaited restructuring of divisions could come to fruition for next season.

Detroit, Boston, Buffalo, Florida, Montreal, Ottawa, Tampa Bay and Toronto would make up one part of the Eastern Conference, while Carolina, Columbus, New Jersey, New York Rangers, New York Islanders, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh and Washington would fill out the other Eastern Conference division.

Western Conference, Chicago, Colorado, Dallas, Minnesota, Nashville, St. Louis and Winnipeg would make up one division, while the other would be rounded out by Anaheim, Calgary, Edmonton, Vancouver, Phoenix, Los Angeles and San Jose.

The process would need to be ratified by the NHL Board of Governors and National Hockey League Players Association. The NHL tried to realign the divisions last season, but the NHLPA rejected it, so we will have to wait for word on how the players view the changes. Certainly Eastern Time Zone teams like the Detroit Red Wings, who have been traveling regularly to the other end of the US and Canada as members of the Western Conference should be thrilled with less travel.

Subscribe to NHL Trade Report updates on Facebook, on Twitter, by Email, or RSS.